Skip to content

Shamus Octopi

January 19, 2010

Shamus Octopi — that was the title of a poem I wrote when I was 13. It was about an octopus man. I loved the weird and wonderful then, and I do even more now.

In the summer of 2008, I had the chance to attend Art Basel with my mother (aforementioned and art world voyager). Imagine my surprise and utter delight when I saw this guy:

It was like my teenage fantasy (no, not that kind of fantasy. yeesh..) come to life!! How amazingly strange is he??

Anyway, the octopus’ name is Shintaro Miyake and he is a Japanese artist who creates the most whimsical and weird pieces. Of course my favorite are the octopi, but he’s got some other wonderful creatures too. Rawr.

(images from artnet)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

