Skip to content

La Vie en Vert: Tribal Societe

March 1, 2010

I’m very excited to share with you a big project I’ve been working on: La Vie en Vert, an eco fashion show happening this Friday at the Altman Building, in conjunction with a larger event called Think Social Drink Local organized by NYU Stern. For the last month or so, we’ve been speaking with designers who specialize in eco or sustainable fashion and this week I’m finally getting to see the samples in person — so exciting!

I’ll be profiling our designers in a series this week and post some pictures of the show on Friday.

This morning I visited with Tatiana from Tribal Societe who has graciously loaned us some of their amazing jewelry. The company is a group of fashion forward social entrepreneurs that offers a view of the developing world through art, accessory and fashion. It showcases products that are hand made by artisans of tribal villages around the world, offering a story behind every product sold instead of a brand. I felt like a kid in a candy store…

Tatiana let me have several beautiful pieces, and my favorite is this seriously cool graphic black and white piece, the Hermanus Posh Necklace ($112) made by artisans in Ecuador. This would look amazing with a simple white tee, or your favorite LBD. I can’t wait to see it come down the runway on Friday — I might even have to get one for myself!!!

Check out Tribal Societe’s beautiful pieces on their website, or if you’re in NY, they have a shop in shop at Anik on 3rd Ave btw 77th & 78th St.  A portion of  sales from their site is donated to the Global Fund for Women, giving you another wonderful reason to check them out!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

