Skip to content

Suzanis

March 24, 2010

Now that it’s getting warmer out, I’m starting to think about switching out my cozy down duvet for some new spring bed linens. One idea that I’ve entertained for years, but never gotten around to actually doing, is to use a vintage suzani as a bedspread.

Suzanis are antique and decorative tribal embroidered textiles made in Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and other Central Asia countries. Its name is derived from the Persian word سوزن Suzan which means needle. I love the rich colors, the organic themes (flowers, trees, pomegranates!) and all the handwork that go into making one of these beautiful pieces.

Here’s some inspiration for how a suzani can really spice up a room:

Here are some of the ones I’ve got my eye on on Ebay. For my bedroom, a cream based suzani would ground the piece with the rest of my white and khaki furniture, while adding some color to the room. Best of all, most of the suzanis cost less than $100, which makes this purchase a pretty painless one. What do you think? Do you like this decorating idea?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

