Skip to content

Chelsea Flea Finds

June 22, 2010

Got to spend a Sunday alone this week while E is drumming up some business in SF. So I took the opportunity to do something I rarely do when E is around — hang out at the Chelsea Flea. For me, flea marketing is a solo activity which allows me to spend as much time as I want pawing through costume jewelry and old photographs.

Thankfully for my bank account, everything that I loved was priced under $10! Talk about a guilt-free afternoon. So to my purchases:

One of the stores I stopped by was run by a Chinese couple from Shanghai (upper garage level) and was stocked full of old Buddhist trinkets and antique jade pendants. I loved some of the Chinese calligraphy brushes with jeweled handles, but ultimately was drawn to two silver bangles. As you can see, they are perfectly antiqued (aka dirty) and go really well with my new watch (thanks mom!).

Even more special are the dragon heads on each bracelet — both E and my bro are born in the year of the Dragon, so the bracelets will remind me of my two favorite men every time I wear them.

My other brilliant purchase was two matching elephant pins from another jewelry vendor. I wore one today on the collar of my chambray shirt, and plan to wear the two together on a t-shirt, or even to jazz up a LBD. I mean, how cute is this little guy??

So all in all a good day at the Flea. Can’t wait to see what else I find the next time I get a free weekend to myself!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dah permalink
    June 25, 2010 9:47 am

    I like the ‘phants, they are too cute!

    I’m looking for broaches and pins to add colour to my work jackets.

    You’ve got a great eye. x

Leave a Reply

